El Paso del Norte Region

Child Care Standards

All licensed and registered facilities must follow the state minimum standards. Some caregivers strive to offer a higher quality of care that is above the state minimum standards:

National Accreditation is a process through which child care programs voluntarily meet specific standards that are above the state’s minimum to receive endorsement from a professional agency. Some organizations that have awarded national accreditation to child care providers in our area are:

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
National Accreditation Commission for Early Care and Education Programs (NAC)
National Accreditation for Child Care Programs (NECPA)
Council on Accreditation for School-age Programs (COA)
National Association of Family Child Care (NAFCC).

Texas Rising Star (TRS) providers voluntarily meet requirements that exceed the Texas Workforce Commission child care minimum licensing standards for health and safety, group size, child/staff ratios, caregiver training, and age-appropriate curricula and activities for child care facilities.

TRS providers are denoted as two, three or four star providers. Four star providers meet the highest level of quality criteria established by the Texas Workforce Commission at the time of TRS certification. 

Texas School Ready (TSR) TSR is a comprehensive preschool teacher training program combining a research-based, state-adopted curriculum with ongoing professional development and progress monitoring tools. The goal of this program is to help children be better prepared for school.



Types of Care             Choosing Child Care            Standards              Resources             Search